All You Need to Know on Travel, Driving, E-passes, and More

All You Need to Know on Travel, Driving, E-passes, and More

Est. Reading Time:
5 mins

All You Need to Know on Travel, Driving, E-passes, and More

In the wake of increasing COVID-19 cases in India, some of the states have travel restrictions and a few have made it mandatory for visitors to produce a negative Covid-19 test on arrival. States that have imposed travel restrictions are Gujrat, Rajasthan, Odisha, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Bihar, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Assam, Tripura, Manipur and Andamans.

The travel restrictions apply to visitors travelling to the respective state by air, train or by road – either in public transport or private vehicles like a car or a bike. A few states insist on an RT-PCR test and a home quarantine, especially those arriving by air.

Here is a complete list of Indian states that has travel restrictions, quarantine, or requires a negative Covid test in 2021. Since the rules could change anytime, it’s best advised to check with your airline/travel agent or the local government/ health authorities just a few days before your travel.

Largely road travel across India is unrestricted but travellers require to follow the rules implemented by the state, some of the major tourist places in Tamil Nadu and Karnataka like Ooty, Nagarahole, Wayanad, Bandipur, etc., require an e-pass for travel, even for personal vehicles. Public transport services are almost functional across the country, but the number of trains and buses are comparatively lower than pre-covid times.

While no one is entirely sure when the COVID situation might end, we can certainly tell travelling by your own vehicle, especially a car is the safest choice during these unprecedented times.

Who is allowed to travel in their vehicles?

Driving during the Lockdown – All you need to know

Most Indian states do not require a permit/travel pass/ e-pass for both inter-district and interstate travel. The states that previously required travel permit, e-passes for travel by road, air & rail included Delhi, Rajasthan, Chattisgarh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Mizoram, Meghalaya, West Bengal, and Karnataka.

What are the rules for private vehicles?

Motorcycle rider examined during the lockdown

There is no need for prior travel permission or an E-passes to travel by road in the most parts of India.

Earlier, only 3 occupants were permitted in hatchbacks and sedan, 4 passengers in SUV, Buy now you can drive your cars, bikes without passenger restrictions.

Remember, all drivers and passengers should wear a face mask in a car , it is also advisable to keep a sanitizer and surface cleaner spray in your cars.

There is no time restriction for travel at the moment. Movement of people, road travel for private vehicles is permitted across the country without any time restrictions.

What are Travel Rules And Restrictions For Different Indian States in 2021?

Travel rules for Kerala in 2021

All passengers are required to adhere to a 14 day home quarantine. Travellers visiting Kerala for less than 7 days for business, official purposes, medical, law & order etc.. are exempted from the home quarantine. To enter Kerala, visitors require an entry pass that is available on Jagratha portal. Visitors need to disclose their purpose of visit, local accommodation details and contact information. 

Travel rules for Maharashtra in 2021

People visiting Maharashtra from Gujarat, Delhi-NCR, Goa, Rajasthan and Kerala will have to produce a negative RTPCR test report on arrival, irrespective of the mode of travel. For passengers travelling by air, the test report should be within 72 hours prior to the flight.

Travel rules for Karnataka in 2021

People visiting the capital city of Karnataka, Bengaluru is required to carry a negative RT-PCR COVID-19 test report to enter the city. Visitors from the states of Maharashtra, Kerala, and Punjab were asked to produce their negative RT-PCR COVID-19 test report prior to entering Bangalore.

Travel rules for Gujrat in 2021

The government of Gujarat has announced that a negative COVID-19 RT-PCR test report will be mandatory for those arriving from other states.

Travel rules for Jammu & Kashmir  in 2021

Visitors from all states will have to provide a negative RTPCR test report on arrival in the J&K.

Travel rules for Rajasthan in 2021

Travellers visiting tourist places such as Jaipur, Jodhpur and Udaipur from Punjab, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat to required to produce a COVID-19 negative report on arrival in the state of Rajasthan.

Travel rules for Tamil Nadu in 2021

All visitors require an e-pass that can be applied on the Tamilnadu state portal. It is mandatory for international and domestic passengers, except those from Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and the neighbouring Puducherry union territory to have an e-pass to be allowed entry into the state.

Travel rules for Delhi in 2021

The covid-19 test is not required for passengers travelling to Delhi. However, the thermal screening will be done for all passengers upon arrival.

Which are the Indian states that have no travel restrictions for Domestic travelers?

Goa, Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Haryana and Jharkhand do not have any sort of travel restriction for domestic tourist and travellers.

Statewise Link to obtain E passes for driving/travel during Lockdown

The state-wise links for E-Passes or inter-district travel permission during the lockdown have been mentioned below:

Andaman & Nicobar Islands
Nicobars district
North and Middle Andaman
South Andaman
For South Andaman, download the application at below link and submit it to the DC

Andhra Pradesh

Registration Link
DCC/MC/Tahsildar Verification Link

E-Pass application link

E-Pass application link

The state government has an App to avail E-Pass.

Application dashboard

For travel permit
For temporary Pass

Movement Pass
Application dashboard

Himachal Pradesh
Apply for a curfew pass
For Vehicle Movement e-pass in Kangra, Kullu, and Una, you can also apply at :
(Click on ‘Select State’> Choose ‘Himachal Pradesh’ from the drop-down menu> Scroll-down to ‘Newly Launched Services’ > Click on ‘Issuance of epass’)

Jammu and Kashmir

Apply for a curfew pass


Apply for a curfew pass

Bangalore: Organisations and individuals can obtain passes from
Karnataka State Police (KSP) e-portal

Inter-District Travel Pass

Apply for an e-pass

Madhya Pradesh:
Apply for e-pass

For the movement of restricted number of staff in Maharashtra except for Pune:
For the movement of restricted number of staff in Pune:

E-Pass dashboard

E-Pass dashboard

E-Pass is being issued for those who are engaged in providing essential services like health, manufacturing, transport, shops, and media personnel. For e-passes
Can also apply at

Apply for pass

Tamil Nadu:
Apply for E-Pass

E-Pass can be applied at

Uttar Pradesh:
Apply for E-pass

Link to E-Pass and FAQs

West Bengal:
Link to E-Pass

If you’re looking to buy or sell a Used Car Visit for Best Price, Instant Payment & Free RC Transfer